User Login

Login Access

Search the Collections

Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence (2021)

Art Rocks!



Genre: Art

Place Covered: Louisiana

Copyright Holder: Louisiana Educational Television Authority

Date Issued: 2021-05-14

Duration: 00:09:30

Subjects: Authors | African Americans | Gaines, Ernest J., 1933-


  • Fox-Smith, James Host
  • Kendrick, Dorothy Producer
  • Grooms, Tony Interviewee
  • Howard, Ravi Interviewee
  • Locke, Attica Interviewee
  • Gaines, Dianne Interviewee
  • Sternberg, Mary Ann Interviewee
  • Bump, Gabriel Interviewee
  • Allen, Jeffrey Reynard Interviewee
  • Jackson, Mitchell Interviewee
  • Johnson, Geronimo Interviewee
  • Brinkley, Jamel Interviewee


This segment from the May 14, 2021, episode of the series “Art Rocks!” features Dorothy Kendrick’s profile of the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence, which recognizes rising African American fiction writers from around the country. It includes interviews with: Tony Grooms, writer/teacher; Ravi Howard, 2008 winner; Attica Locke, 2013 winner; Dianne Gaines, the widow of Ernest Gaines; Mary Ann Sternberg, author; Gabriel Bump, 2020 winner; Jeffrey Reynard Allen, 2009 winner; Michell Jackson, 2014 winner; Geronimo Johnson, 2015 winner; and Jamel Brinkley, 2018 winner. Host: James Fox-Smith